AR Quartet

Sampo Kasurinen – soprano & tenor saxophones

Eero Seppä – bass

Artturi Rönkä – piano

Jonatan Sarikoski – drums

AR Quartet (formerly known as Artturi Rönkä Quartet) is a band of four young musicians from Helsinki, Finland. The group’s music is characterized by dynamic and energetic interplay and refined compositions, mostly written by Artturi Rönkä. AR Quartet was awarded as “We Jazz Rising Star” at the inaugural We Jazz festival event in Helsinki and Rönkä received the prestigious “Artist of the Year” prize at the Pori Jazz Festival in 2013. In May 2012, the band won the first prize in the Finnish final of “Young Nordic Jazz Comets” competition and represented Finland in the international showcase in Copenhagen, Denmark. In September 2012, AR Quartet won the second prize in international “Jazz Hoeilaart” competition for jazz groups in Belgium. The band released their debut album in March 2014 via the Helsinki-based label Fredriksson Music.

“AR Quartet differs from many others by its unified group sound, first of all because of the modernistic, melodic and classically-influenced compositions by Rönkä.”

 – Helsingin Sanomat

AR Quartet: GSM Tango